And the winners are….

The Barrymore Awards are on hiatus this year, but on November 4, 2013, Theatre Philadelphia gave out several awards recognizing local theaters and artists. The Barrymores return in all their splendor for the 2013/14 season; in the meantime, check out Phindie‘s 2012/13 Critics Awards, which recognized theater productions over the last season in the absence of the annual awards.

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Ceal Phelan
A four-time Barrymore Award nominee (The Breath of Life [Lantern]; and Six Characters in Search of an AuthorHave It Your Way, and My Mother Said I Never Should [People’s Light]), and co-founder of the Delaware Theatre Company, Phelan passed away in February after a decade-long battle with cancer.

Photo © Jacques-Jean Tiziou /
Charlotte Ford. Photo © Jacques-Jean Tiziou /

F. Otto Haas Award for an Emerging Philadelphia Theatre Artist ($10,000)
Charlotte Ford
Ford created the 2012 Fringe Arts hit BANG and was named the 2012 Performer of the Year by Philadelphia Magazine. She has received Barrymore nominations for Welcome to Yuba City (Pig Iron ) and Red Light Winter (Theatre Exile).
Finalists ($1,000): Liz Filios, Jacqueline Goldfinger, Adrienne Mackey, Alex Torra

Brown Martin Philadelphia Award ($25,000)
Next to Normal (Arden Theatre Company)
“This award seeks to honor the spirit of Philadelphia by acknowledging a production from any period or genre that demonstrates the ability of theater to illuminate the ways we live and interact with others as we seek to build community.”
Finalists ($2,500): It’s My Party: The Women and Comedy Project (1812 Productions), The Amish Project (Simpatico Theatre Project/The Renegade Company), Angels in America, Part Two: Perestroika (Wilma Theater).

June and Steve Wolfson Award for an Evolving Theatre.($10,000)
11th Hour Theatre Company
“This brand new award recognizes, promotes and rewards the creativity, growth and excellence of evolving theatres within the Greater Philadelphia community with annual budgets of less than $400,000.”
Finalists: Azuka Theatre, EgoPo Classic Theatre, Inis Nua Theatre Company, Quintessence Theatre Group.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.